book prizes

The Fence Modern Poets Series is open to poets of any gender and at any stage in their publishing career. The prize is $1,000 and publication by Fence Books.

The 2017 Fence Modern Poets Series will be open for submissions during the month of March, 2016. A prize of $1,000 and publication by Fence Books will be given. Using the online submission system, submit a manuscript of 48 to 80 pages with your $29 entry fee, which includes a subscription to Fence. 

You may submit your manuscript here (during the month of March).


The winner of the 2016 Fence Modern Poets Series Prize is THE CODEX MOJAODICUS, by STEVEN ALVAREZ. The Codex Mojaodicus is forthcoming from Fence in 2017.

STEVEN ALVAREZ is the author of the novels in verse The Pocho Codex (2011) and The Xicano Genome (2013), both published by Editorial Paroxismo. He has also authored two chapbooks, Six Poems from the Codex Mojaodicus (2014, winner of the Seven Kitchens Press Rane Arroyo Poetry Prize) and Un/documented, Kentucky (2016, winner of the Rusty Toque Chapbook Prize). His work has appeared in the Best Experimental Writing (BAX), Berkeley Poetry ReviewThe Drunken BoatFenceHuizache, and Waxwing

VISIT STEVEN at:, @Chastitellez, and Steven Alvarez on Instagram.



Kevin Holden, Solar (2015)
Jennifer MacKenzie, My Not-My Soldier (2014)
Lee Ann Brown, In the Laurels, Caught (2012)
Donald Dunbar, Eyelid Lick (2012)
Paul Legault, The Other Poems (2011)
Nick Demske, Nick Demske (2010, Joyelle McSweeney)
MacGregor Card, Duties of an English Foreign Secretary (2009, Martin Corless-Smith)
James Shea, Star in the Eye (2008, Nick Flynn)
Christopher Janke, Structure of the Embryonic Rat Brain (2007)
Daniel Brenner, The Stupefying Flashbulbs (2006)
Geraldine Kim, Povel (2005, Forrest Gander)
Prageeta Sharma, The Opening Question (2004)
Elizabeth Robinson, Apprehend (2003, Ann Lauterbach) 
Joyelle McSweeney, The Red Bird (2002, Allen Grossman)